#60 My Love Will Not Let You Down

This song was recorded in May of 1982 at The Hit Factory in New York City, and despite the intensity of this recording, it didn’t quite fit the scheme of Born In The U.S.A. and wasn’t released until 1998 on Tracks. Despite not making the cut, it is considered one of the best Born In The U.S.A. outtakes and has become a huge fan favorite ever since Bruce dusted it off for the E Street Reunion Tour. This song consists of a driving melody emphasized by Roy Bittan and Phantom Dan Federici’s keyboards and Max Weinberg’s dynamic drumbeat as Bruce sings of his love for a woman, a love so strong that he says, “At night I go to bed and I just can’t sleep.” In a desperate attempt to win her over, he repeatedly pleads “my love will not let you down.” When he plays this song in concert, I am sure this promise seems to extend not only to the woman he has been looking for but also to his fans that fill up stadiums and arenas to hear Springsteen play.

A smoldering version of My Love Will Not Let You Down kicks off the Live In New York City album. Of all the previously unreleased songs which appeared on the Tracks boxed set, this song has received the most attention live in concert, having been played well over 100 times since 1999. Despite this, I have never had the pleasure to experience this song live in concert.

Today as we celebrate my wife’s birthday, I dedicate this blog post to her. Aimee, I made a promise to you over 23 years ago that my love will not let you down. I only hope that you feel I’ve kept that promise.

Here is the opening track of the Live In New York City album, Live at Madison Square Garden from the summer of 2000:

#60 My Love Will Not Let You Down

Leave a comment