#61 Lonesome Day

I got my first taste of this song in 2003 when, just like almost all the concerts during that tour, The Rising and Lonesome Day formed a formidable one-two punch at the beginning of many a setlist, showcasing the strings-laden rock & roll anthems which set the stage for a lot of material written in the aftermath of 9/11. In Lonesome Day, the narrator is attempting to cope with the loneliness caused by the loss of a loved one. “…but it’s gonna be okay if I can just get through this lonesome day.” There is also some talk about possible revenge, however you “better ask questions before you shoot,” because revenge may not be the answer.

I have heard this song live in concert a lot, no less that 10 times in the 18 shows I’ve been to, and it’s powerful every time. The first time my son experienced this song live was during the Magic Tour on October 10, 2007 at the Continental Airlines Arena in East Rutherford, NJ. It was his second Springsteen show, and the light effects while Lonesome Day was being performed helped to quickly make this song one of his all-time favorites. Today, on his 18th birthday, I dedicate this blog post to my son. Happy Birthday, Son! I am quite proud of the young man you have become!

Here is the music video of the song, which was shot in Asbury Park, NJ:

#61 Lonesome Day

One thought on “#61 Lonesome Day

Leave a comment